Wednesday, January 2, 2019

Gmail-Calendar Migration Tip of the Day #2

Gmail menu side bar with Starred highlighted
Starred Emails

Happy New Year WUSD Staff!

Starting today you'll begin noticing Outlook emails dated after 11/1/18 begin to appear in your Gmail inbox. Since there are still 5 days until Gmail goes live for all WUSD employees, today's tip focuses on clean-up and preparation of your Gmail inbox. Any emails in Outlook marked important with the red exclamation point, transfer into your Gmail inbox as Starred Emails.  Starred Emails function the same way as Starred Files or Folders within your Google Drive. It provides an easy way to find those emails you deem important, rather than scrolling or searching through your inbox.  It's a new year and you may want to start off anew with starred emails, here's how.
Note: The steps below are also available via video tutorial on the WUSD Tech YouTube Channel Gmail Migration Playlist.
  1. Visit mail.google.com
  2. Click on Starred Filter (On the left under Inbox)
  3. If you have starred emails from a while back that you no longer deem important, you can select all the emails by clicking the checkbox at the top.  It will select all the starred emails on the page and may prompt you to select all the conversations.  
  4. If you want to unstar these emails, click the meatballs at the top and choose remove star.  Note: Removing the star does not delete the email.  Those emails will just no longer appear under the starred filter.
  5. Once Gmail goes live for All Staff on January 7, you can star important emails for easy access under the Starred Filter.
Want to learn more about starred emails as an organizational or productivity strategy?  Visit the Gmail Help page about Star emails in Gmail  

Interested in additional training? We have training spots open for January 4 and 7.  Register today at bit.ly/fallintogoogle  

Friday, December 21, 2018

Gmail-Calendar Migration Tip of the Day #1

person checking things off their list with the text Welcome to Tasks.

Welcome to Google Tasks


With Gmail going live for ALL District Staff starting Monday, January 7th, it's a perfect time to do a little clean up in advance.  Any emails that you flagged in Outlook, purposefully or accidentally, transfer over to Google Tasks.
Today's tip will introduce you to Google Tasks and walk you through some clean-up (if needed) to start the new year fresh!  
Note: These steps described below are also available via video tutorial on the WUSD Tech YouTube Channel Gmail Migration Playlist.
  1. Visit mail.google.com.  Your email address and password will not change.
  2. On the right side, pop-up out menu, locate and click the Google Tasks icon.  If this is your first visit to Google Tasks, you may have to scroll to the bottom and click Get Started
  3. If you flagged emails in Outlook, you'll see them in a list, along with a date.  In my case, I no longer needed the flagged emails from 252 weeks ago!  
  4. If you no longer want those emails on your task list, mark them as done by clicking the circle.
  5. You can delete all these completed actions by clicking the meatballs and choosing Delete all Completed Tasks.  NOTE: This only deletes the emails from your task list.  It won't delete them from your inbox.
Now you have a fresh task list!  Starting January 2, as emails dated after 11/1/18 begin transferring over your district Gmail account, additional more recent tasks may appear if you are someone who regularly flags their Outlook emails.  

Curious to learn more about Google Tasks?  Check out this guide from the GSuite Learning Center.

Monday, November 26, 2018

Illuminate - "Testing Window Closed" Error?

Getting “Testing Window Closed” when trying to give an assessment in Illuminate?

It could be that the Administration window has expired. This can happen if you assigned an assessment before the Thanksgiving Break and your students didn't get a chance to complete it.  Illuminate sets an end date on tests once they are opened.

You can check this by viewing the assessment details. Edit this by clicking on the roster ID # and entering a new ending date.

Thank you to superstar Monique Judge for figuring this out for us!

Screen Shot of Illuminate showing testing window.



Screen Shot of Illuminate showing how to change testing window.

Monday, November 5, 2018

Portal: Not Connected Message Quick Fix!

Not Connected Messagewith a  Back to Login Button

Have you seen this Not Connected Message when logging into the portal?


This means you need to connect your Google Account in order to use the Sign in with Google Button.  All portal users, staff and students, need to complete this one-time action if they wish to use the Sign-in with Google Button to access the portal.

Here's how to connect your Google Account.

  1. Return to portal login 
  2. Login using your regular computer credentials and password and Click Sign-in
    apple and bridge logo with username and password boxes with signin
  3. Once inside the portal, visit My Profile > Sign-in Options > Connect Google Account
  4. Done!  Now you can access the portal on Chromebooks and other devices where you are signed into Chrome using the Sign in with Google Button.

Reminder: This is a one-time action required of all staff and students who wish to access the portal using the Sign-in with Google Button. 

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Manage your Lexia/PowerUp Roster

Teachers! You can manage your Lexia Rosters following these simple steps.



  1. Login to myLexia.com and click the Manage tab.
  2. Make sure you are on the Classes list.
  3. Find the class you want to edit and click the pencil icon in the class's row.
  4. Click the Modify Students button to add or remove students. 
    1. Looking to Add Students?  Search for them > Add to Selected Students. If a student doesn't appear in your search the day after first day of enrollment, please complete a helpdesk ticket letting us know.
    2. Looking to Remove Students? On the list of selected students, Click the x next to the name of students no longer in your class.
  5. When you are finished editing the class, click the Done > Save button.
Once your roster is complete and current, you'll be able to see how students are progressing through the program, access Skill Builder lessons, and see the individualized small group lessons for students struggling and requiring additional instruction.